MARIAN COLLEGE KUTTIKKANAM (Autonomous)

Affiliated to Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam

Minutes of the meeting of Academic Council

Held on 21st December 2022, Wednesday at 10:30 am in Hybrid Mode

Members Present

1. Prof. Dr. Ajimon George Chairman

2. Dr. Benymol Jose Member Secretary

Dr. P S Sukumaran
Dr. Beena Mathew
Professor, University Nominee
Professor, University Nominee

5. Dr. Johney Johnson Professor, University Nominee

6. Dr. Jose James Special Invitee

7. Mr. Augustine Peter IES Expert from outside, Present Online

8. Dr. Anil K Jaggi Expert from outside, Present Online

9. Mr. Janeesh PU Expert from outside, Present Online

10. Dr. Sunny Mathew

12. Dr. Rajimol A

11. Dr. Joby Cyriac

13. Dr. Mendus Jacob

14. Dr. Siby Joseph

15. Dr. Joshy John

16. Dr. T.V. Muralivallabhan

17. Prof. M. Vijayakumar

18. Dr. Chackochen J Njavallil

19. Dr. Soosy Joseph

20. Mr. Biju P. Mani

21. Dr. Thomas K.V.

22. Dr. Binu Thomas

23. Mr. Kiran V Nath

24. Mr. Allen George Podippara

25. Ms. Suzanna Oommen

26. Mr. Boby K Mani

The meeting started with a prayer.

After ascertaining that the requisite quorum of two-third of the members of the Academic Council is present, the Chairman called the meeting to order. He extended a warm welcome to the members and introduced the three University nominees and the external experts to the meeting. Then Dr. Benymol Jose, Member Secretary presented the agenda of the meeting. After due deliberations, the following resolutions were made

Item	Agenda	Note/ Report	Resolution
No			
1.	Approval of the minutes	The secretary presented	Resolved to approve the
	of the previous	the minutes of the	minutes of the previous
	Academic Council	previous Academic	Academic Council meeting
	meeting held on 29 th	Council meeting held on	held on 29 th June 2022
	June 2022 and actions	29 th June 2022	without any changes.
	taken.		
2.	Discussion on the	Details in Annexure 1	Resolved to approve the
	preparedness of the		proposal to implement NEP
	College for NEP		2020 in Marian College. The
	implementation: (UG		Academic Council
	and PG Programmes)		congratulated the College
			for the NEP initiatives
			undertaken and observed
			that Marian moves in the
			right track in the
			implementation of NEP.
3.	Instituting Scholarships	Proposal for instituting	Resolved to approve the
	(Recommendation to	two scholarships, merit	two scholarship policies.
	the Governing Body)	scholarship and sports	Also resolved to
	(i) Sports Scholarships	scholarship from the	recommend to the
	(ii) Merit Scholarships	Academic Year 2022-23	Governing Body to
		onwards. Details in	implement them from the
		Annexure 2	Academic Year 2022-23
			onwards.

4.	Approval of Regulations	NEP provides	Resolved to approve the
	for engaging Professor	provisions for engaging	Regulations for engaging
	of Practice.	Professors of Practice in	Professor of Practice. Also
	(Recommendation to	colleges and these	resolved to recommend to
	the Governing Body)	regulations are drafted	the Governing Body for its
		as per the guidelines	immediate implementation
		issued in this regard.	in the College.
		Dr. Jose James	
		presented the draft	
		regulations prepared by	
		Marian College.	
		Details in Annexure 3	
	December 1	D. I.I. O. S. III.	David at the same of the
6.	Proposal to change the	Dr Joby Cyriac, Head,	• •
	nomenclature of Master	Department of	proposal to change the
	of Management in		nomenclature of the existing
	Hospitality (MMH) in	presented the matter	Master of Management in
	compliance with the	detailing the urgency to	Hospitality (MMH)
	UGC specification of		programme to MA
	degrees 2014	programme.	Hospitality and Tourism
		Details in Annexure 4	Management subject to
			approval from University
			and Government
7.	Renaming of Research	Dr. K V Thomas, Head	Resolved to approve the
	and PG Department of	of the Department	proposal to rename the
	Commerce to School of	presented the matter.	Research and PG
	Commerce and	Details in Annexure 5.	Department of Commerce to
	Professional Studies.		'School of Commerce and
			Professional Studies in
			Accounting'.

The meeting came to an end at 12.20 pm with the vote of thanks by Dr. Benymol Jose, Member Secretary.

Sd/-

Prof. Dr. Ajimon George Dr. Benymol Jose

Chairman Member Secretary